top of page

When Your Legs Don't Work Like They Used To Before 2.0

Yes, it’s been some time since the last blog post, but anyway. The sequel to the last post is finally up! And in case you don’t recall what was going on in the last one (and are too lazy to read it again), here’s a short summary of the essential goings-on: Very out of shape Lena goes on DofE camping trip. Lena doesn’t approve of English weather but is all in all having a great time. Tired Lena arrives home on Sunday and wants to sleep for the next 48 hours, but then recalls that stupid Lena promised her friend to go on a day trip to York with her on Monday. The end (And yes, we’re already keenly awaiting my nomination for a Pulitzer Prize).


So no pyjama day after all! I got up on Monday morning after at least 9 reasonable hours of blissful sleep, swigged down a good deal of coffee and met my friend Claire at the train station. And once on the train, I realised that I probably should have had even more coffee, jittery hands or not. Because for me, train rides are the most relaxing and tranquilising thing in the world! Meaning after one hour of lazing in a big comfy seat and watching fields and forests whoosh past the window, I was nearly falling asleep right then and there in the train.

Fortunately, I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. Claire also felt the strong need to be cockered up by another much needed – and seriously overpriced – Latte in a café by the River Ouse winding through York. And with all the caffeine doping up my body and the warm sun cheering (up) my mind, I finally felt pretty good and ready to check out the city.

Ruins in Museum Gardens

And I tell you, it was definitely worth it! We walked along the river, enjoyed the sun and some ice cream in the beautifully blooming Museum Gardens with big green meadows and scenic ruins, did some window shopping in York’s adorably quirky old lanes and had some amazing street food from some kind of fayre in the city centre. But my personal highlights were walking the old City Wall, from where you get an amazing view of the famous York Minster and checking out the church’s Treasurer’s House, boasting an amazing little garden with free Cricket and Jenga for visiting tourists. If you happen to be in York, I’d definitely recommend going there and getting some nice snaps!

Treasurer's House

Between the warm temperature and shining sun, the entire city was on the streets and buzzing – and so were we! Although spending more than 14 hours in York, we didn’t get bored once. We always found something to do, although we didn’t pay to visit any of the many museums or attractions. So I’d definitely recommend paying York a visit, especially if you’re on a budget!

York Minster, Viewed From City Walls

I already knew that I’d be coming back to York in the future. And I can’t even imagine how magical these little lanes must look during Christmas time! But before recklessly planning even more trips, Tuesday was finally the long called for pyjama day!

Netflix, YouTube and tea kept me great company and all in all it was enough of a rest to re-energise me for the following days of work and the next weekend. Because again, this wasn’t going to be a relaxed time at all – The Northern Pride was coming to Newcastle!

Which basically meant being out from early midday until late in the night (or in my case 5am in the morning), what with the fun fayre, stalls and afterparties all the time. And another good thing about Gay Pride is that you finally have an excuse to glow up your regular party look with a good deal of glitter. I mean, how can you not be in a good mood with tons of shiny sparkling paillettes in your face, amiright?!


But every medal has two sides. And with glitter, the thing is that it doesn’t really limit itself to staying in your face, no matter how thoroughly you remove it at the end of a long party night. It also has the audacity to settle on your bedroom floor, your bed sheets, your towels and basically every space imaginable. It’s been months since Pride now, but I still keep finding little sneaky paillettes EVERYWHERE!

I know we’ve had a great time together, dear glitter, but you honestly need to let go. We’re a thing of the past now, sorry!

bottom of page