top of page

Winter Is Coming

Winter is slowly but gradually coming to Newcastle and with it come freezing temperatures. But that doesn't stop us from enjoying autumn to the fullest!

Autumnal St Mary's Abbey in York

Because why would you let yourself be pulled down by things like the cold when the town is full of multicoloured leaves, the smell of pumpkin-spiced treats and spooky jack-o'-lanterns? And since Halloween is celebrated way bigger in England than in Germany, I was well excited for that, too. In fact, I spent five hours doing my gory Halloween makeup (including face paint, fake latex and all that jazz) before coming to Space2. But apparently it payed off - At least I guess it did, since I spent basically the whole day covering impressed young people in fake wounds and scars when they weren't busy bobbing for apples or doing all the other Halloween activities. Another advantage of the makeup: It stayed on all day (and night), even during post-work clubbing. I'll just pat myself on the back, thanks.

Autumnal River Ouse in York

Anyways, with Halloween putting and end to October and 1st November being here, the town got ready for Christmas in a heartbeat. And while some people are generally less than happy about this early festive atmosphere, I couldn't have been more enthusiastic. Lights were put up in the streets, the smell of mulled wine began to fill the first Christmas markets and families queued in front of Fenwicks to see the famous Paddington-themed Christmas Windows. To be fair, their window display wasn't really a winner for me, but their Christmas department had me on cloud nine. Absolute bauble heaven! I couldn't help but leave this Christmas decoration paradise with a (slightly overpriced?) festive reef to put into my room. I blame the christmas songs they played there, Mariah Carey's high notes just made me abandon all my rationality.


Moreover, just in case you're still being a grinch here in Newcastle despite all of that, I recommend a day trip to York! In a past blog post I already said that this little town surely must be stunning during Christmas, and I wasn't let down! Newcastle definitely is lovely, but it has nothing on York! Every single quirky old lane was lit up by amazing lights and festive window displays and the smell of tea and fudge wafted from the many old-fashioned shops. Let alone the huge christmas tree and market in the city centre (10/10 minced pies for that one).

Christmas Tree in York

And perfectly going along with the cozy atmosphere York put me in, Space2 hosted a women's event on 9th November.

During a relaxed drop-in session for girls only, girls could get henna (see rubbish snapchat photo below), their nails or hair done, join cooking sessions, get creative during crafting and painting workshops or just have a nice chat over food with other girls.

For me personally, it was one of the most laid-back nights at work for a long time (nobody blasting trashy techno for four hours straight, yay) and it was so much easier to talk to the girls than when boys are in too. Can we from now on make this a monthly thing, please?

My Henna Art

bottom of page